Department of Anthropology
Old Main 330, University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Phone: (479) 575-2508
Fax: (479) 575-6595
E-mail: anth@uark.edu

Home » Faculty/Staff

Faculty/Staff

Chair

Peter S. Ungar | Chair, Distinguished Professor

Ph.D. State University of New York-Stony Brook 1992
Human origins, primate evolution, dental microwear, functional anatomy, computer image analysis, feeding ecology of living primates
pungar@uark.edu

Archeology Teaching & Research Faculty

JAMIE BRANDON | Associate Research Professor
Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin 2004
Historical archeology, African Diaspora archeology, Southeast US, Cultural Memory
jbrando@uark.edu

Jesse Casana | Associate Professor
Ph.D. Chicago 2003
Landscape archaeology, Geoarchaeology, Ancient Near East , Archaeological remote sensing, Human-environment relationships
jcasana@uark.edu

Marvin Kay | Professor
Ph.D. University of Colorado 1975
Primitive technology, lithic, microscopic use-wear, Quaternary, Ozark highlands, Great Plains, Old World Paleolithic
mkay@uark.edu

Kenneth L. Kvamme | Professor
Ph.D. University of California-Santa Barbara 1983
GIS, geophysics, remote sensing, quantitative analysis, settlement archeology; Great Plains, Western U.S.
kkvamme@uark.edu

W. Fredrick Limp | University Professor
Ph.D. Indiana 1983
Computer applications, economic anthropology, Midwestern archeology
fred@cast.uark.edu

George Sabo III | Director, Arkansas Archeological Survey
Ph.D. Michigan State 1981
Southeast U.S. ethnohistory, European exploration and colonization in the South, Southeastern Indians
gsabo@uark.edu

WESLEY STONER | Assistant Professor           
Ph.D. University of Kentucky 2011

Archeology Research Faculty

Ann Early | Associate Professor, Arkansas Archeological Survey - Fayetteville

amearly@uark.edu

Jodi Barnes | Assistant Archeologist, University of Arkansas - Monticello

jabarnes@uark.edu

Elizabeth T. Horton | Assistant Archeologist, Toltec Mounds Archeological State Park

ethorton@uark.edu

John House | Archeologist, University of Arkansas - Pine Bluff

jhhouse@uark.edu

Jami Lockhart | Archeologist - Survey Coordinating Office

jlockhar@uark.edu

Jeffrey Mitchem | Associate Archeologist - Parkin Archeological State Park

jmitche@uark.edu

Juliet E. Morrow |  Archeologist - Arkansas State University

jemorro@uark.edu

Leslie C. Stewart-Abernathy | Archeologist - Winthrop Rockefeller Institute

acs01@uark.edu

Mary Beth D. Trubitt | Archeologist - Henderson State University

mtrubit@uark.edu

 

Biological Anthropology

Lucas K. Delezene | Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Arizona State University 2011
Human evolution, primate evolution, morphological integration, canine honing, premolar molarization
delezene@uark.edu

Justin M. Nolan | Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Missouri 2000
Ethnobiology, ecological anthropology, applied linguistics, folklife studies, North American cultures
jmnolan@uark.edu

Michael Plavcan | Professor
Ph.D. Duke University 1990
Human origins, primate evolution, craniodental/postcranial anatomy, sexual dimorphism and behavior, 3-D  computer imaging and analysis
mplavcan@uark.edu

Joshua M. Polanski | Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D. University of Iowa 2009
Cranial integration, hominoid evolution and ontogeny, Homo erectus evolution, modern human origins
jmpolans@uark.edu

Jerome C. Rose | Professor
Ph.D. University of Massachusetts-Amherst 1973
bioarcheology and dental anthropology, Egypt, Jordan, Southeast and Midwest
jcrose@uark.edu

Claire E. Terhune | Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Arizona State University 2010
Human evolution, Craniofacial ontogeny, Human and primate anatomy, Masticatory biomechanics, Geometric morphometrics, Pleistocene hominin biogeography
cterhune@uark.edu

Peter S. Ungar | Chair, Distinguished Professor
Ph.D. State Uiversity New York-Stony Brook 1992
Human origins, primate evolution, dental microwear, functional anatomy, computer image analysis, feeding ecology of living primates
pungar@uark.edu

Cultural Anthropology

JoAnn D'Alisera | Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
Ph.D. University of Illinois 1997
West Africa, Africans in America, Islam, American Islam, City Cultures, Religion, Material Culture, Memorialization, Commemoration, Representation, Anthropology of Experience, Transnational Communities and Identities       
dalisera@uark.edu

Kirstin Erickson | Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin 2000
Native Americans, Northern Mexico, sociolinguistics, gender, performance studies, U.S.-Mexico borderlands, memory, culture, narrative
kirstin@uark.edu

Lauren M. Griffith | Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Indiana University 2010
Tourism, Performance, Anthropology of Education, Critical Pedagogy, Sustainability, Brazil, Belize, African Diaspora
lmg003@uark.edu

Jonathan S. Marion | Assistant Professor
Ph.D. University of California San Diego 2006
Performance, embodiment, gender, identity, translocal communities, activity-based cultures, psychological anthropology, visual anthropology
marion@uark.edu

Raja Swamy | Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Texas 2011
Disasters and development, globalization, neoliberalism, humanitarianism, NGOs, social movements, India and South Asia.
rhs001@uark.edu

Ted Swedenburg | Professor
Ph.D. University of Texas 1988
Cultural Middle East, Popular Culture, Transnationalism and Globalization, Gender/Sexuality, Race and Ethnicity, World Music, Cultural Studies, Domination and Resistance
tsweden@uark.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Hester A. Davis | Professor
Archeology Ph.D.

Charles Mcgimsey | Professor
Archeology Ph.D.

Michael P. Hoffman | Professor
Archeology Ph.D.

Mary Jo Schneider | Professor
Cultural Anthropology Ph.D.

William M. Schneider |Associate Professor
Cultural Anthropology Ph.D.

Staff

Carl Hitt | Administrative Specialist III

Carl Hitt has been at the University of Arkansas since January 1972 and was Chief Photographer for the Division of Information from 1974 to 1984. He has a B.A. and M.A. in sociology and came to the Department of Anthropology from Sociology, Social Work and Criminal Justice, where he was a research assistant. His hobbies are reading, writing, and video photography.

chitt@uark.edu

Shannan Freeman | Administrative Specialist II
Shannan has been at the University of Arkansas since February 2007. Her hobbies include camping, fishing and spending time with her two boys.